What’s YOUR happiest day?

My 11 year old son asked me today, “Mom, what was your happiest day ever?”  I was kind of stunned, because I’ve never really thought about it.  I mean, of course, the days each of my sons were born rank up there, but that’s too obvious.  My wedding days (first AND second) were both fabulous, but again, everyone would pick those.  I had to think.

If I had to put a date on it, I think that one of my happiest days was August 19, 1996.  That was the very first day that I was the teacher in my very own classroom.  My room, my students, my lesson plans, my chalk on the chalkboard rail (yes, back then, we used chalk…none of that dry erase board nonsense).  I was terrified before the first bell rang, but as the day went on, I got less and less nervous.  The kids, believe it or not, didn’t bite.  I wasn’t tearing my hair out or running away screaming.  It was FUN.  I loved that day!  I remember the euphoric feeling after the last kid left that afternoon…that feeling of “Wow, I can do this.”  It was very empowering.

I’ve had so many happy days.  I’ve been blessed beyond belief to have more happy days than any other kind in my 41 years.  Yeah, there have been some tough ones and some crappy ones and some that I wish I could erase or do over, but overall, there have been so many happy ones that I can’t complain.  Not at all.  The way I see it, if you are alive, have a little food to eat, a roof over your head, some change in your pocket, know Jesus, and treasure the love of friends and family, every day has the potential to be your best day yet.

What was your happiest day?

PS.  Here’s a picture of the sunset today.  Today was a pretty good day, too.  😉

Sunset over the country club

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Jennifer Roberts
    Jul 29, 2011 @ 20:49:51

    I feel so fortunate to have so many happy moments in my life. The births of my two sons, the day of my wedding, and my first day teaching Kindergarten. I had taught 4th, 1st, and small reading groups, but those never felt right. I wrote about one of my happiest breakfasts yesterday – http://www.retrogradelearning.wordpress.com!

    Reply

Leave a comment